Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How best to fuel up for intense workout? page

Canarygirl is offline Senior Member

Primal Fuel

Hi, I'm pretty new to all this; been eating low-carb/quasi-PB for 2 weeks (>80gm/daily of carbs).

I've been taking 2 spinning classes per week for the past 10 months and I don't want to stop doing this.

But it's been a bit hard making through the session:

Monday I ate a banana ~45 min before the class. I did okay but petered out ~5 minutes for the class ended. I took a glutamine capsule with water after the session. No issues with recovery, muscle cramps or anything.

Wednesday I ate a good-sized handful of Sahale seasoned almonds instead of the banana. I did okay again, mostly made it through...it was a very intense session. This time, no glutamine with my water, and it was 1.5 hrs before I ate my PB dinner. I was so burned out/low-blood-sugary that I could barely function before my dinner, and even afterwards. I couldn't sleep through the night, and I woke up with a migraine. (THis sometimes happens after Spinning class when I get dehydrated or blood sugar too low).

How should I be eating/recovering from these intense workouts, so i don't feel like something the cat dragged in? I normally drink ~8 glasses of H2O on spinning days and these two days above were no different; this used to work in my pre low carb days?

thanks for any input

I'm a quitter...but I'm back now.

Silverthorne is offline Junior Member

Canarygirl, I do 60-80 mile rides on the weekend, training for the Sam's MS150 charity race. I had to get The Paleo Diet for Athletes by Loren Cordain, which has endurance athletes taking in high-glycemic carbs before and after races. Cavemen did not run for hours on end, so we have to cheat a little.