Thread: Carbs: to count, or not to count? page

PattythePrimate Guest

Hi all,

I'm brand new at this and I'm wondering: how essential is it to count carbs for fat loss? Do most of you just follow the guidelines and not worry too much about it? I find that appealing, but I've never flown number-free before.

Thanks,

Patty

Brit is offline Junior Member

Hi Patty. One major point of Primal eating IS eating low-carb, in comparison with Conventional Wisdom. But it also depends what your carbs are and what your ultimate goal is.

If you're eating Primal but eat in the 100-150g of carb/day, you won't be losing weight. You need to eat under 100g carbs/day to lose weight. But with that said, how fast do you want to lose weight? If you want to lose a lot, then consider eating under 50g carbs/day (ketosis).

As for counting, I used fitday.com until I got used to eating Primal. If your not sure what has carbs or how many, use a carb counter until you become familiar with your foods.

Timothy is offline Senior Member

Welcome, Patty!

My opinion: be very aware of what you are eating and why, avoid simple/starchy carbs in favor of fat and protein, but don't put too much faith in numbers.

If you have the patience to read my whole screed on the subject, it's here:

http://www.marksdailyapple.com/forum...-I-just-did%29

Lekki Wood is offline Junior Member

Hey PattythePrimate,

I found that primal needed some 'tweaking' for me - and this was easiest when I knew exactly what I was eating. So, I logged everything for ages on fitday and this helped when I wasn't losing weight, when I was tired / low energy or when I wanted to see how what I was eating compared to others. Slowly I built up a 'routine'- not repetitive food choices, but patterns of eating and recipes etc. Then I could abandon fitday - yay!