Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Tabata sprints day after heavy lifting? page

mgage is offline Junior Member

Tabata sprints day after heavy lifting?

Shop Now
    Hi,

I'm fairly new to going primal and wanted to work sprinting into my exercise plan. Yesterday I did a session of moving heavy things, which included working the leg muscles with squats. Is it worthwhile to do tabata sprints today, since my leg muscles probably aren't completely healed? I'm just not sure when to work them in since it seems like on any given day I'll either be recovering or working out.

Thanks!

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    i almost always do my sprints the day after a lifting day. it takes me more to recover from sprints than it does from lifting, and i always seem to have enough energy the next day. give it a try, and if you are too tired, try a different day next week.

how often are you lifting? it's a lot easier to fit in sprints if you only lift twice a week, and you can always work on certain exercises throughout the week without calling it a workout (i.e. doing pull ups every day to increase your numbers).

I'm working out twice a week or I should really say I do three rest days in between, so the actual days vary. I'll give it a try since I'm not feeling sore.

pace2race is offline Senior Member
    Since you're doing Tabata's have you considered doing them on a stationary bike instead of running? Fitness gains still happen without as much risk of pulling or straining something. I lift four times per week and end each lift session with a 10 set or 5-minute Tabata. My upper legs and calves burn and I'll wobble a bit afterwards but have no signs of a strain or muscle fatique from them. My heart rate is lower now and I can run just fine the next morning.

I've done them twice on an elliptical machine. It's definitely a decent workout, but I just don't feel like it really allows me to go all out. Plus, the machine creaks and I just feel kind of ridiculous in the gym!