Page 323 of 555 FirstFirst ... 223273313321322323324325333373423 ... LastLast
Results 3,221 to 3,230 of 5541

Thread: Before and after pics page 323

Grumpycakes is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by babycakes View Post
    Excuse my ignorance, I'm new to PB, but isn't running anti primal?? a little confused...
    No, chronic cardio is, though.
    You lousy kids! Get off my savannah!

Glamorama is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by babycakes View Post
    Excuse my ignorance, I'm new to PB, but isn't running anti primal?? a little confused...
    If you can run and not exceed 55-70% max bpm you're okay. Obviously you'd have to be pretty fit to do that though. 55-70% for me is more like a brisk walking-pace or very slow jog.

Patrick is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Glamorama View Post
    If you can run and not exceed 55-70% max bpm you're okay. Obviously you'd have to be pretty fit to do that though. 55-70% for me is more like a brisk walking-pace or very slow jog.
    Running's okay regardless of percentages. Chronic cardio has nothing to do with BPM, really. If it did, sprinting wouldn't be a part of the PB and using Tabata Protocol for HIIT would be a bad thing (and it isn't). It's not a matter of hitting, or coming close to, max BPM. It has to do with how often you push yourself to that point and how long you keep yourself at that point. Doing it often and keeping yourself there for long periods = chronic cardio.

As Grumpy said, the point is not to think of exercise as the means to weight loss. Diet is primary; exercise is just the seasoning on the steak. If you enjoy running, run. If you don't, don't.
    August 2010: 207 lb, 37" waist, 25+% BF | Currently: 177 lb, 33" waist, ~15% BF

I have a new site up and will soon be blogging at The Wayward Mind. (My journal is semi-retired at this point)

RachelY is offline Junior Member