Thread: New Girl From Virginia page

leslieinvirginia is offline Junior Member

New Girl From Virginia

Shop Now
    Hi there. I am happy to have found this forum. I've been "playing" with going primal for about a year now. I've been gluten free for about 4 years and experienced amazing health benefits from that change alone. My weakness is and will always be Mexican food. It is my cheat food. I'm having fun looking around and getting motivation from all your successes. My goals are to be 90% primal, lose that last 15 lbs I've been carrying around for the last 17 years, eradicate all joint pain and think more clearly. I started losing big chunks of memory about 5 years ago. I low-carbed to lose weight and my brain fog seemed to clear. That's when I started making the diet(wheat in particular)/mind connection. I hope to participate here often.

p.s. I have noticed that a few folks that seem to be oldtimers randomly post really belligerent comments, dropping f-bombs etc. Is there a way to avoid this or is it just a part of the culture here? Thanks. Leslie

Welcome aboard, and good luck with your change to the Primal lifestyle. Since you did not mention whether you've read the Primal Blueprint (book), I will suggest that you make that investment in time and money, neither of which is particularly taxing, since it is the best summation of Primal principles. I had read much of the message board posts, and had read quite a few diet and nutrition books previously, and still felt PB added to my understanding.

Part of the reason newbies get rebarbative responses is that a) the posters ask questions clearly covered in the book(s), and b) they ask questions that have been asked dozens of times before - use the search tool before posting new threads, please. Sometimes, too, posters are clearly coming in with intent to troll or an agenda to stir things up for the sake of stirring things up, and they get what they get.