Thread: Hi from the UK! page

natro is offline Junior Member

Thumbs up Hi from the UK!

Hi All,

I'm a 25yr old female from Yorkshire in the UK, and just become a mum. I'm also a farmer and we follow the joel salatin style of grazing to raise our 100% grassfed beef and lamb, and do our best with the pigs - non GM, no-soya home milled ration sourced locally. It's grain and peas (argh! lol) but they get silage/hay too and we're working hard on getting them onto whey etc. It's all sold direct to the customer, and it was a couple of customers that first introduced me to the idea of paleo - I was instantly sold on the idea, it made sense, and promptly lost 1.5st of the 4.5 I needed to lose without having to starve myself - I've done some DAFT diets in the past in an effort to control my weight, and always stuck to the salad + fruit = good mantra. With the paleo though, I suddenly found I had so much ENERGY! I'm NOT an athletic person, but even I wanted to go for a run. Doctors say I have the blood pressure of an athlete, too

...then I got pregnant and although I lasted quite well throughout and only gained the weight of the baby, once she was born I started on the carbs again, through convenience more than anything. Not exactly *really* bad stuff, like McDonald's & takeaway pizza, but cereal, cereal bars, bread and so on. So this is me trying to get back on the paleo wagon - carbs are definately addictive, once you slip, that's it - I find anyway.