Thread: Exercising while fasting page

Exercising while fasting

I am doing my second day of Intermittent Fasting, and it is going well. I'm not really in the habit of exercising regularly, but I'd like to start. If I exercise in the morning, during my fast, will I trigger hunger or low blood sugar that will create a need to break my fast earlier than I'd like?

The exercises I'm talking about would probably be one of these 3 things:

1. a leisurely walk, or a 30 minute leisurely jaunt on my elliptical machine

2. a couple of circuits of squats, lunges, sit-ups, or similar plyometrics

3. a couple of sets of Tabata sprints on my elliptical. One set consists of a 5 minute warmup, 8 x 20 second sprints with a 10 second rest in between, and a 5 minute cooldown

I know this would hardly be considered strenuous by most people, but I'm just starting out.

I would appreciate your input very much!

Johanna Anderson

TorMag is offline Senior Member
    You really should break your fast within 45 - 60 minutes after working out, depending on the workout. If you are trying to do something like leangains, 16 hour fast, you want to workout around hour 14, if you workout is say 1 hour long. If you need to workout in the morning, you will need to shift your fast so that hour 14 is when you want to work out. I work out at work on my lunch hour, so my fast is shifted to end around two pm.....
    I Kettlebell therefore I am.

My Journal
    My Journal

Thank you, TorMag.

Neckhammer is offline Senior Member
    I wouldn't actually worry about it as long as you are getting in all the good nutrition you need. Really unless your at some super elite level timing matters very little. I worked out at noon yet my 24 hr fast didn't end till 5pm....then dinner took longer to get done than I planned and the kids and the....anyhow no eating till 6pm. No worries (except that last hour was killer! Especially when you already told your belly the food was on its way you know?).