Thread: Omega 6 question page

Seanogee is offline Junior Member

Omega 6 question

Primal Fuel
    Hello folks,
    I started CrossFit this spring and they got me going on the Paleo/Primal eating. So far it's really helping. I've read most of Mark's stuff (and Rob Wolfe's and others) and I understand what the deal is with the different fats, pretty well (I'm still learning every day!). My question comes from "PaleoTrack". It's a useful tool for me in analyzing and keeping track of what I am eating, but every day it tells me I am "consuming too many omega-6 fatty acids". When I check the numbers, I see that I am getting them from sardines, eggs (organic) and avocados, etc. I thought those were good fats that I am supposed to eat.
    Can someone help me out with this?

Sean

jakey is offline Senior Member
    sardines will not contribute to n-6 in any meaningful way, that seems completely wrong. they're chock full of n-3s. if those are the sources of n-6 in your diet, you have nothing to worry about.

people fall into issues if they eat too many nuts. but cutting seed oils has got to be the single biggest thing you can do right!

noodletoy is offline Senior Member
    conventional eggs can skew high in omega-6 because of their feed. buy pastured, free-range eggs instead. those score well for omega-3.

the sardines and avocado contain 0mega-6, but not the harmful inflammatory type as found in seed oils.
    As I ate the oysters with their strong taste of the sea and their faint metallic taste that the cold white wine washed away, leaving only the sea taste and the succulent texture, and as I drank their cold liquid from each shell and washed it down with the crisp taste of the wine, I lost the empty feeling and began to be happy and to make plans.

Ernest Hemingway