Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pop Corn page

Vickie is offline Junior Member

Question Pop Corn

Shop Now
    Hi! So I'm kind of new to the Primal Diet, but so far I LOVE it. However, giving up ice cream is VERY hard. But I did it. Watching others eat pizza in front of me kills me, but I didn't eat it. Now I'm hoping I don't have to give up my third love--pop corn. Does anyone know if I can eat pop corn? The kind you pop in olive oil on your stove top? I NEVER buy micro- pop corn, I always make it myself. Can I still eat this? Please tell me I can!

Paleobird Guest
    Corn is a grain. Grain is not Primal. Those are the facts. What you can and can't eat is up to you.

MarissaLinnea is offline Senior Member
    You can eat whatever you want to eat. But I'm afraid pop corn is not considered part of the Primal menu. Corn is considered a grain, and grains are not allowed.

Vickie is offline Junior Member
    Yeah, I know but I was just hoping...haha! THANK YOU!

DashFire is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Paleobird View Post
    Corn is a grain. Grain is not Primal. Those are the facts. What you can and can't eat is up to you.
    Well said Paleobird.

And Welcome Vickie! Glad to have you on the forum and exploring Primal.

I recommend checking out the Primal Blueprint 101 resources, which will probably answer a lot of your questions. There is also a definitive guide to grains, that explains the issues there.

Primal Blueprint 101 | Mark's Daily Apple
    My Primal Journal - Food, pics, the occasional rant, so...the usual.

I love cooking. It's sexy science that you stuff in your face. - carlh

Hedonist2 is online now Senior Member
    Organic corn is one of the least harmful grains. I eat several corn tortillas per week. Always organic. Other corn is nearly all GMO. Enjoy if it doesn't hold you back.