Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Primal Journal - Tachikomoo (cave bear emerging from hibernation!) page

tachikomoo is offline Member

Primal Journal - Tachikomoo (cave bear emerging from hibernation!)

Primal Fuel
    Well here goes, inspired by arty and Siobhan to track this and just put down whatever, hopefully this will be a good way to not be a band-wagoner and really commit to this way of life.

I've been addicted to sugar and starch for as long as I can remember and I now have the joy/curse of being married to one of those naturally skinny people who can eat anything they like and not put pounds on. I've been chubby since I was a kid and after I started full time work in desk jobs (I work in IT) I just resigned myself to being fat and all the health problems that came with it. My dad's eaten himself into diabetes, my mom's had the surgery for her feet due to her weight, both have bad health generally and very, very low fitness. Food for me was a reward, a go-to when bored, sometimes a punishment (as a kid I hated onions and was made to eat a bunch for being obnoxious once!), but mostly a comfort.

Then I met my husband and moved to England (formerly from Utah) and everyone I talked to seemed to be doing some diet or other, slimming world, atkins, weight watchers etc. Tried them all, and they always had some flaw, some key component (usually my self discipline) that made me give them up after a while. My hubby was incredibly patient through all this but I could tell after 3 years of roller-coastering and me saying 'I've been good this week, lets have a cake!' he was ready to throw in the towel.