Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bad/light sleep because of paleo/reduced carbs? page

Xeronimo is offline Member

Bad/light sleep because of paleo/reduced carbs?

Primal Fuel
    Hi,

I've been eaing +- paleo for the last 4 months and it seems like I'm not sleeping really well ... I don't fall asleep easily and I wake up too early ... Now I've read in Mark's latest post that insomnia might be a result of a low carb diet, at least at first?

Any comments/recommendations?

Thanks!

Jerome

YogaBare is offline Senior Member
    This is my area..!

I've had insomnia for years. It got worse when I went vegetarian, and got worse again when I went low carb. I've researched it to death, have asked several big boffs about it, and never found a satisfactory answer. I have several hypothesis about it.

Are you fat adapted? Hows your fat intake?

Basically, when the average, sugar burning person sleeps, they use up glycerin stores. When these get depleted (which they do easily - particularly if you're eating low carb), the body cannot rest, because it starts looking for fuel. The result is waking fitfully throughout the night. Some people wake up hungry, others just wake up with a racing mind.

If you've changed to primal, but haven't upped your saturated fats considerably, you're still relying primarily on sugars as your source of fuel. Unless you're eating really heavy carbs at night, these get depleted quickly. Your body goes into a state of stress, because it's searching for fuel, and it makes you wake, feeling stressed out, or hungry.

If you're fat adapted, it doesn't matter if your glycerin stores are low, because your body has a constant source of fuel to keep it in a state of rest.

Another thing is hypoglecmic insomnia, which is when your blood sugar drops too low and again, you wake up looking for food. Or your liver can respond by dumping glycerin back into your blood stream, and the burst of energy wakes you.