Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Reps versus holds page

YogaBare is offline Senior Member

Reps versus holds

Shop Now
    Hey everyone,

I'm a yoga teacher, and in Yoga we do a lot of poses that are excellent for toning and strengthening the various muscle groups. Since going Primal, I've intensified some of the poses, adding more lifting of my own body weight.

However, in the style of Yoga I do we don't repeat anything, we just hold it.

Again, I've adapted it slightly so that I am doing two or three reps with a few really long holds. Personally I really prefer this - I feel I get much deeper into the muscles. WHat are your views? Better to do many reps, or is it okay to hold?

Anyone?

not on the rug is online now Senior Member
    isometric holds can be valuable to building strength. and if you are improving your yoga, then continue doing so. i mean, thats the idea. getting better at what you do. that doesn't mean you shouldn't be strength training ,because there are a myriad of benefits from strength training. but i don't see what you are doing as detrimental to anything. are you holding the poses to failure, i.e. you can't possible hold them any longer? or are you progressing in to more difficult variations of the pose? those would be the 2 ways to improve your abilities strictly through yoga

Grafter is offline Senior Member
    Honestly, as long as you are reaching your goals (whatever they may be) and it is working for you (i.e., a successful N=1), I think it is fine.
    turquoisepassion - I MUST KNOW ALL THE THINGS

Thanks guys

sandstone is offline Member
    Maybe try mixing the two methods.

In "Building the Gymnastic Body", Coach Sommers recommends starting a session with static holds then follow up using reps for the same muscle group. He suggests this helps with both strength and hypertrophy.