Thread: Hunger help page

froggirl is offline Junior Member

Hunger help

Primal Fuel
    Newbie here...but lurking for a couple of months though. I've been primal for 3 months now (started out with the whole30 thing which I followed absolutely to the letter) and then switched to primal after my 30 days, adding back in some dairy and some 85-90% dark chocolate. My problem? I am constantly, constantly hungry and I'm not sure if that is ''normal" while following this lifestyle.

Here's some information: I'm 50 years old, 5 feet, 2 inches tall, 105 pounds. Very small framed. I am reasonably active, but have MS so am limited with the activity I can do. I do lift heavy weights 3x/week and walk some. My reason for going primal was to try to improve my energy level and reduce some of my MS symptoms without taking meds.

I always ate *healthy* before switching to primal (meaning lots of whole grains, legumes, very little meat). Switching to primal has not been a problem, but the hunger I now experience is. I'm not used to always thinking about food and wanting to eat constantly.

An example of what I eat is this:
    Breakfast (I admit, I eat very early...5:30am but I have to be at work early): 2 egg/sausage/spinach "muffins" (no grains, just eggs, sausage and spinach baked together), a bowl of sliced strawberries with two heaping spoonfuls of full fat plain greek yogurt, and a cup of tea with a pinch of stevia.

Lunch (at 11:30am) : BAS with lots of veggies and meat, or leftovers from previous night's dinner (chicken or beef, big serving of veggies) I don't measure portion sizes, but I can say it's A LOT more food than I previously ate. A full, heaping plate full.

Dinner (around 5:30pm): Chicken, fish or beef. Salad. Veggies. Again, a full plate. My husband is amazed at how much I eat now. This is usually followed by about a half of a dark chocolate bar (either Lindt's 90% or Green & Black's 85%).