Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: tweaking current gym routine to progress to free weights page

xixstar is offline Junior Member

tweaking current gym routine to progress to free weights

Shop Now
    I'm new to strength training and my only experience is using the weight machines at the gym. I plan to move over to free weights and have the Starting Strength book on reserve at the library. But honestly, I'm very intimidated by even approaching the free weight area of the gym since I'm on the heavier side.

So, with that in mind, what can I do with my current weight machine circuit to build strength and confidence so I can cross over to the other side?

Right now, I'm set up on a basic machines routine as determined by the fitness trainer at the Y that includes about 10 basic machines (leg press, lat pull down, arm curls, leg lifts, etc - I don't know the real names yet). The machines are setup to instruct me to do just 1 set of 8-12 reps. If I hit 12 I can increase the weight for the next time. During my previous membership (2 years ago?), my routine was set to 2-3 sets of 8-12 reps which really took forever to complete so I do like how fast the 1 set each is.

So since I do want to keep doing the machine circuit for a little while longer, should I adjust the sets/reps or just go on as is? Also does the speed at which they're done matter much? The machines beep if it thinks you're going too fast but usually I just base lifts on breathing in and out speed.

My goals: overall health benefit, basic strength increase, and plan to lose 50-70 pounds. I'm a 30-something gal just looking to tackle health some more and have really liked the nutrition side of primal but trying to get the fitness side going too.

-- I did search like crazy for answers, but getting past 'machines are bad' didn't really get me far enough. I do plan to move on to the free weight idea, but I just might need to move there slowly. --
    Last edited by xixstar; 07-03-2012 at 07:42 PM.