Thread: Starting out...how to kick the sugar addiction page

biancadonk is offline Junior Member

Starting out...how to kick the sugar addiction

Primal Fuel
    Hi everyone,
    I'm just starting out and am nowhere near fully primal yet. I think one of the biggest impediments is this ridiculous sweet tooth that I have. I don't drink any sugary drinks, so at least that much is good, but candy, cookies, ice cream, you name it, I have a serious addiction to it. I was never a smoker, so I never thought I'd understand what trying to kick a real addiction is like, but I'm pretty sure it's something like this. I almost feel like quitting sugar might be harder than quitting cigarettes, cause it's EVERYWHERE, and it's so widely accepted as being okay.

Anyone have any advice?

Bianca

Sandra in BC is offline Senior Member
    Kick the grains, soy, corn and industrial seed oils and everything made from them. THEN you'll learn what real food tastes like and you'll experience the natural sweetness of REAL foods.

Notice I didn't list sugar. You'll cut excess sugar automatically when you cut out processed foods. It's not the sugar in those foods that you're addicted to....it's the refined carbohydrates and fake ingredients that are sugar delivery devices and scientifically designed to be addictive. I bet your sugar addiction doesn't include tons of hard candy and straight sugar out of the sugar bowl.
    Sandra
    *My obligatory intro

There are no cheat days. There are days when you eat primal and days you don't. As soon as you label a day a cheat day, you're on a diet. Don't be on a diet. ~~ Fernaldo

DAINTY CAN KISS MY PRIMAL BACKSIDE. ~~ Crabcakes

Lewis is offline Senior Member
    Sugar-eating, if it's reached the stange of full-on craving, is probably a way of trying to manipulate your mood in the absence of having enough of the right neurotransmitters -- chemical messengers in the brain.