Limited Time: Grab your FREE Box of Dark Chocolate Almond Bars Get Yours>>Close
Open

Thread: Looking for Homemade Bread Tips (Gluten Free, Not Primal)

Hybrid View

Looking for Homemade Bread Tips (Gluten Free, Not Primal)

Alright, this is probably the wrong place to put this, but I'm a dude, and I'm new to baking and I'm fairly clueless. On rare occasion, I like to have my burger and bun too. I'm not a carbohydrate hater, but I do avoid most all grains all the time (especially being celiac). That said, last night I baked my first loaf of bread, ever, and it turned out pretty freaking good.

I'm looking for suggestions of what to change, what to try, and how to come up with a gluten free bread that I can use on occasion that is better than store bought crap (which seems to be pretty easy to do). What I baked was partially borrowed from online sources and the rest made up, since when in doubt, I like to mix up a bunch of crap and dive right in just to see what happens.

What I used:
    1.25 cups of Sweet Sorghum and Amaranth Flours mixed 50/50
    1.25 cups of Quinoa Flour
    2 Tablespoons of Tupelo Honey
    1 Tablespoon of Orange Blossom Honey
    2 Teaspoons of Xanthan Gum
    1/2 cup of Tapioca Starch
    1.5 Teaspoons of Cane Sugar
    .75 Teaspoons of Salt
    2 Eggs
    3 Tablespoons of butter
    Almost 2 cups of water
    1.5 Tablespoons of Yeast

Baked @ 350 for 50 minutes, which was over kill, 40 probably would have gotten it to 170 degrees.