Thread: New to Primal page

Cdmartin111 is offline Junior Member

Question New to Primal

Primal Fuel
    So I'm new to this whole thing and I'm really trying to give it ago. However I have some points of confusion that I hope someone can help me with. First are fruits bad? And if I am training for a super spartan race (eight mile obstacle course race) does this change how I should be eating while eating paleo?

Thanks a bunch

noodletoy is offline Senior Member
    fruits are fine in moderation. i stick with in-season berries and stone fruits for the most part, although i do keep frozen berries around during the winter for sweet treats. year-round access to super sweet fruits is a very modern innovation.

the fundamentals of the plan don't change regardless of training. you may simply need more of everything, especially protein, so you don't become depleted. don't be afraid of carbs, especially tubers and root veggies.
    As I ate the oysters with their strong taste of the sea and their faint metallic taste that the cold white wine washed away, leaving only the sea taste and the succulent texture, and as I drank their cold liquid from each shell and washed it down with the crisp taste of the wine, I lost the empty feeling and began to be happy and to make plans.

Ernest Hemingway

Question

Quote Originally Posted by noodletoy View Post
    fruits are fine in moderation. i stick with in-season berries and stone fruits for the most part, although i do keep frozen berries around during the winter for sweet treats. year-round access to super sweet fruits is a very modern innovation.

the fundamentals of the plan don't change regardless of training. you may simply need more of everything, especially protein, so you don't become depleted. don't be afraid of carbs, especially tubers and root veggies.

Also should whey protein be avoided as it is a dairy by product?

noodletoy is offline Senior Member