Thread: Stellar's Six Month Primal Journal page

Stellar Jay is offline Junior Member

Stellar's Six Month Primal Journal

It's a six month journal because six months seems like long enough to set up new patterns but short enough that it won't go on forever. I've done Whole 30 before and felt fantastic... lost weight, felt more emotionally stable, felt fantastic physically -- but never have I managed to do it for a whole thirty days because as soon as I get stable and calm and "together" I just spiral out into binges and drama and self-sabotage. So I'm going to go with Primal principles and see if I can build some success.

Stuff about me

I'm a 5'6" 208 lbs graduate student in my mid-twenties, studying engineering. I'm a Marine veteran and was 135 lbs and buff at my best. I'm 208 now, down from 220 on January 1st, and completely stuck at this weight. It's all a mind game with me and the big 2-0-0 keeps throwing me for a loop. I'm a compulsive eater (not offically diagnosed) and I'm dealing with a lot of binging, anxiety, and guilt. I want to be fit, able to run and jump and climb on things, and to feel mentally clear so I can geek out with a proper attention span.

My one-month goals for August 1st are:

1. get the primal blueprint
    2. switch to primal eating and build up a 'coping bank' for the inevitable binge desires.
    3. weigh 200 lbs
    4. squat/bench/dead/press: 145/90/80/75
    5. hike three 12+ mile hikes with 20lb pack
    6. repair my sleep schedule

Sleep particulars...

I always fall into that "well, I'll do more work..." habit where I use that as an excuse to screw around on the internet from nine pm til midnight. Instead, I recently rented an office near my house and I'm getting up at 7am to go there to work. I'm going to reset my sleep with a combination of judicious use of melatonin (it's worked before well in the very short term) and no internet after sunset.

Food particulars...