Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to this - Amount of sets per exercise? page

Glenn70 is offline Junior Member

New to this - Amount of sets per exercise?

Primal Fuel
    Hi all,

I just received 'The Primal Blueprint' yesterday in the mail and have started reading. I have been training with weights for 20 years and completely agree with Mark's comments about overtraining, etc. I will start my 80% primal eating plan in the coming days but want to simplify my weight and fitness training to the following:

Week 1 - two heavy workout days (with weights) and one day of sprints.

Week 2 - two days of body weight training and one day of sprints.

I have a very good body weight training routine but my main question relates to the heavy training days in week one. How many sets does Mark recommend when it comes to training chest for example? I currently do pyramid training (increasing weight each set) with 4 x sets of 10, 8, 6, 4 reps of heavy - flat B/B bench press, incline D/B bench press and D/B flyes. If I just simplify the chest part and only do flat B/B bench press, how many sets (as Mark suggest keeping the reps low, say 10 or under)?

Thanks very much in advance.

Glenn
    Last edited by Glenn70; 06-27-2012 at 05:14 AM.

Nigel is offline Senior Member
    Have a read of Body by Science from Doug McGuff MD and John Little. You're looking at a maximum of one high intensity workout every five days or so to start with and decreasing to one every couple of weeks. Each exercise set should take 50 - 90 seconds with one rep every 10 - 15 seconds in perfect form with no holding of the breath to push out harder.

I've just read the book and will be giving it a go.
    Why use a sledge hammer to crack a nut when a steam roller is even more effective, and, is fun to drive.

RichMahogany is online now Senior Member