Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Is there a trick to Double Unders? page

Invictus14 is offline Member

Is there a trick to Double Unders?

Primal Fuel
    Ok so I have been jumping rope since I was like 11 years old. As a wrestler and a lacrosse goalie, jump rope was a staple in my life through high school and college. For the life of me I can't seem to get the rhythm or trick to getting double unders. I did like a max of 4 today before I whipped myself in the shins. Is it just one of those practice things or is there a trick to it. I have been using "speed ropes" (super thin ropes) at the little cross fit tent we have here. So far I have been told that I need to make sure that the rope is the right length, what is the right length to do double unders? I usually just pick up a rope and jump with it no problem unless it is like a foot long or something silly like that.

Thanks
    "Most men stop when they begin to tire. Good men go until they think they will collapse. But the VERY BEST men know that the mind tires before the body and push themselves beyond all limits. Only when all of these limits have been shattered can the unattainable be reached." ~Dan Gable

bloodorchid is offline Senior Member
    i'm gonna assume it's speed of the rope plus a bit of added height on the jumps
    beautiful
    yeah you are

I mean there's so many ants in my eyes! And there are so many TVs, microwaves, radios... I think, I can't, I'm not 100% sure what we have here in stock.. I don't know because I can't see anything! Our prices, I hope, aren't too low!

federkeil is offline Senior Member
    Whip the rope around really fast... and jump higher....

seriously, you may need to exaggerate the jump quite a bit until you get comfortable with the whipping that's needed to accelerate the rope. And for me the rope doesn't maintain a constant speed. I whip it for 2 (rotations), whip it for 2, whip it for 2, etc...
    I didn't like the rules you gave me, so I made some of my own.