Thread: New to Primal but having doubts! page

Sheena is offline Junior Member

New to Primal but having doubts!

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi All,

I am very new to Primal having only started two weeks ago but I am having a few doubts. I would normally be quite active and I am fighting with the idea of running so slowly.... (ie within the suggested heart rate min/max) I just feel I am getting nothing from my usual runs. In addition, I jumped on the scales this morning and I have put weight on!!! This is not good.

I initially started because I was having so many stomach problems - bloating etc and felt generally tired and unmotivated. I googled my symptoms and the primal diet came up. Having read Mark's book I felt inspired to do something different. I do feel better but I can't believe I have put weight on - is this normal?

I will keep going but I have to say I feel a bit disappointed.

Oh, I haven't official introduced myself on the forum yet as I am not sure if I am going to stay Primal - I need some inspiration????

Nigel is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheena View Post
    I do feel better but I can't believe I have put weight on - is this normal?
    If like me, you are eating the same quantity of food as before, you will be putting more calories in your body. It took me a couple of days to realise that I was eating just for the sake of it and not because I was really hungry.

Nowadays I just eat until I am not hungry whereas before I was eating until I was full. That last bit means a lot more calories. I am not completely primal but am losing one to two pounds a week. So, my advice is, think about cutting portion sizes as meat & fat are more fulfilling than bread etc.

I hope all goes well. Don't give up.
    Why use a sledge hammer to crack a nut when a steam roller is even more effective, and, is fun to drive.

katiepotato is offline Member