Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Caloric intake?? page

isbolick is offline Member

Caloric intake??

I am new to this and figuring it out as I go along. I was curious about my caloric intake, calorie breakdown and nutrient consumption, so I set up a Fit Day account to keep track of all that. I started using intermittent fasting in the form of skipping breakfast about five days ago and have found that skipping breakfast just kills my appetite. I am hungry for lunch (usually between noon and 1), but after I eat lunch...nothing. I don't have any cravings, I am not really that hungry for dinner and I have to remind myself to eat a snack at about 4. This is so bizarre for a woman who found herself nearly 60 pounds overweight from constant grazing that I am not sure I can fully express how strange I find it. On top of which, my energy is through the roof!

Anyway, back to the Fit Day thing...I went ahead and plugged in every conceivable thing I could imagine eating today, including two apples and half a baked sweet potato, and found that after everything I will have had around 1300 calories. That's an 8 oz grass fed chuck steak, spinach, half a sweet potato with butter for lunch, an apple and a plum spread out as snacks throughout the day and 8 oz of grilled chicken breast and 1.5 cups of broccoli w butter for dinner. That is about what I have been eating daily for the past five days, on average. I did have some nuts for a snack yesterday when I got stuck away from home late afternoon.

Should I be trying to get more calories? Or is this the secret of this way of eating? That you are so satisfied with so much less and THAT'S why you lose weight? I have lost nine pounds in ten days so, either way, I'm fine with it!! Just curious.

Drumroll is offline Senior Member
    An easy way to up caloric consumption is simply to replace the evening chicken breast with a fattier cut of meat. If you still want chicken, switch to thighs with the skin on and eat two or three.