Thread: Hypothyroidism & Adrenal Fatigue - anyone have luck with Primal? page

justjen is offline Junior Member

Hypothyroidism & Adrenal Fatigue - anyone have luck with Primal?

Primal Fuel
    Hi everyone
    I am pretty new to MDA but having been following a Primal eating plan for about 4 months now. My husband has done great on it - lost the 25 pounds that he wanted to and he feels super energetic.

Unfortunately, I have had the opposite experience. I eat very clean, am grain & sugar free (eat around 50 carbs a day from veggies + some fruits). Unfortunately I haven't experienced either the weight loss or energy benefits. I started this to feel better but haven't noticed any big changes so far. I am in/out of ketosis (depending on the day) but have only lost 6 pounds in the last 4 months - but I have about 70 pounds to lose so that's not a big % lost over time.

I started seeing a naturopathic doctor and he diagnosed me with adrenal fatigue - and I have had hypothyroidism for about 10 years now. I've also had chronic colds since I started eating this way, which I find strange. I really believe that this is the best way to eat, but I can't seem to get my energy levels up & body fat levels down. My ND is very supportive of this way of eating, and has me on several supplements - similar in composition to what Mark recommends (plus iodine to help my thyroid).

I have read that it can take 6-24 months for someone to feel better on this eating regime, but from reading the posts it sounds like many of you feel better within days or weeks! I was wondering if anyone else has had this kind of experience - and if so - did they feel better after a long period of time? I'm tired of feeling this way and am trying to figure out how to feel good again! Thanks!

Gravyboat is offline Senior Member
    I'll just say it now so no one else has to:

Go check out the iodine thread.

Oh wait, you already do iodine. Well, go check it out anyway. And then keep with it.