Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Chronic Insomnia page

isbolick is offline Member

Chronic Insomnia

Primal Fuel
    Hi, I am new to the Primal lifestyle with just a week under my belt. I have suffered from insomnia my whole life (hence the 'chronic' part) and I have a few questions. I used to have a prescription for a sleep aid, but weaned myself off of it when I realized I was becoming addicted. These days I take diphenhydramine and melatonin which works OK most of the time. There are times when NOTHING will help me fall asleep or stay asleep, though. After a week of eating paleo, I decided to try to go a night without taking the pills. I got little or no sleep last night. Without cutting anyone off, I have done all the lights out, no TV in the bedroom, glass of wine, warm bath, candlelight, and just about everything else you can find on the internet to help. Been to the doctor, they can't find anything wrong with me. Thought for awhile that maybe I was just one of those people who didn't need much sleep, but figured out pretty quickly that YEAH, I do. I am very excited about this lifestyle and think it will help me out eventually. I have already lost eight pounds and have so much more energy this week than last week, it is ridiculous.

So, here are my questions: Does anyone have an idea of how long it takes for the sleep benefits of going primal to kick in? I am sure it is different for everyone, but I am thinking that I am going to stick with the diphenhydramine and melatonin for awhile, but was wondering when to start weaning off of that. Also, is there a better time to eat more or less carbs that influences sleep? I have been trying to listen to my body and eat when I am hungry and eat what I am hungry for. I have discovered that I really don't NEED to eat nearly as often or as much as I used to. But I was wondering if it is better to have more carbs during the day and more protein at night or vice versa, or does it matter?