Thread: Intermittent Fasting Question from a newbie page

isbolick is offline Member

Intermittent Fasting Question from a newbie

Primal Fuel
    Hi, I am new to all of this primal living stuff and working on putting together a lifestyle that works for me and my family. My current goals are to lose weight and get more fit. I have been doing some research on intermittent fasting and see that people use it in different ways. Some people fast for 16 hours a day, every day and others take a fasting day or two a week. I am thinking that the easiest and least stressful thing for me would be fasting 16 hours a day, but being able to eat every day. BUT...I want this to work as well as possible for increasing insulin sensitivity and therefore weight loss, so which way is better for that or does it matter?

Thanks for your responses!

primalrob is offline Senior Member
    before you even get into fasting, get settled with the rest of the primal way of life first. get comfortable with the food, make sure you're sleeping, exercising, playing, etc.

then, play around with fasting and see what works for you. try skipping breakfast. then skip breakfast and eat a late lunch. try a whole day without food if you want. there's no one way that works best for everyone, so you've got to experiment a bit.

June68 is offline Senior Member
    Recent research also shows that women do not respond well to fasting at all.

I concur that you should settle in with the food, exercise, sleep and other aspects before trying a fast program (if you're male). You really need to stabilize your weight, insulin and sleep patterns so you can achieve optimal performance with all your activities. I'm in that process now myself - healing and stabilizing. I think it will take months, perhaps years, but that's ok with me. It's the journey that fascinates me as well as the destination.

Oh and welcome aboard!
    5' 9" 44 YO F
    PB start June 2, 2012