Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: High Cholesterol and terrified! page

Rattybag is offline Senior Member

High Cholesterol and terrified!

Primal Fuel
    Just had my cholesterol results since eating primal and I am so shocked I burst into tears.
    Ive looked in the archive for messages about cholesterol levels but I dont understand them as Im in the UK and we seem to have a different way of reading them that other countries.

In 2007 my serum levels were 4.7. Today it was 9.0!! My HDL is 2.19 mmol/L

What on earth can I do about this? I dont eat a huge amount of fat but it is from dairy, meat and coconut.
    Why has this happened?

Im petrified!
    I'm not a complete idiot! There's parts missing!!

SleepyRoots is offline Member
    Ok, I just plugged those into a converter.
    That's 348 total cholesterol up from 181, and hdl is currently 84.

I am not an expert, but that definitely sounds worryingly high, and dare I say more than just diet high. Do you have your LDL and triglyceride numbers? On primal you should have relatively low triglycerides, which is good. If the bulk of your cholesterol is made up of LDL then there might be something fishy going on. I believe there are some people on this forum who have diseases that cause this. I hope they spot this thread.
    This stuff can be genetic. Do you have any family history of hugely high cholesterol?

Thanks for your reply Sleepyroots. My triglyceride levels are 1.75 mmol/L
    That has come back as high too.

Also, I thought HDL was meant to be high, but it states its too high.
    Im terrified Im going to have aq heart attack any minute!

Im not keen on taking statins but I cant see any other solution. As far as I know, no other member of my family has crazily high cholesterol. I weight 142lbs so Im not enormously overweight. My sister is a big girl but her cholesterol is not as high as mine but she eats a 'normal' diet

katemary is offline Senior Member