Hi Folks,

I'm a newbie on MDA, and I like to cook. So I'm offering my recipe for the lunch I made today, roast duck and bok choy - simple fast, minimal cooking skills.

Ingredients:
(2-3) lbs or more baby or big bok choy, organinc is better
(1) Roast Duck (go to your local chinese market or deli, hope you have one!) and get one roast duck with the fat still dripping (don't get a dry one). They're usually hanging in a hot case and the very nice folks will cut them up for you into bite size pieces. Cost should be 15-18 bucks.

Prep for 1 hungry dude serving:
1. Melt a couple tablespoons duck or bacon fat or lard or seasame oil in a wok or covered sautee pan
2. Chop as much bok choy as you want to eat and throw the white parts into the pan for 2 or 3 minutes, stir a little until they start to soften (note: bok choy reduces down when cooked by about 1/2 in volume)
3. Use a 1/3 to 1/2 of the duck pieces and add to pan along with the chopped green tops, stir and cover.
4. Stir a couple times while the white parts get soft, and the green parts turn bright and the duck just heats up. (Don't cook the duck, it's already cooked. You want to heat it up but not dry out the juice and oil. If the duck is still hot from the deli, put it in in the last minute or 2 to blend flavors)
5. Eat.
Total prep time: 15 minutes. Total cost: about 20 bucks and you can get 2 or 3 big-man servings.

Extensions:
This is a nice base dish technique with plenty of potential, you can dress it up for friends by adding ingredients, and bring down the cost by making soup from the bones and left overs. For example:

a. Add or substitute gai lan, or chinese brocolli for the bok choy. Or use whatever combination of green leafy sautee-able vegetables are in season.