Thread: You had me at 'Evolution'- Another Journal page

KimNKY is offline Member

You had me at 'Evolution'- Another Journal

Hi everyone,

I started PB about a month ago, and wanted to start a journal to hold myself accountable. In the past I've needed to report into someone or track my habits to keep on track... but I've also had issues with counting every single calorie/carb and having it turn into disordered eating behavior. So I hope keeping a general journal will be a nice middle ground between those!

I'm 30 years old and living in the Cincinnati area, and I'm not comfortable sharing exact numbers but I need to lose 44% of my body weight to get to "healthy" (according to CW/my medical insurance company). I was attracted to Primal Blueprint because I studied anthropology and human evolution in school, and it just clicked with me- reading through Mark's Daily Apple I had a huge "OMG" moment where it all made so much sense and I couldn't believe I hadn't realized it before. Since I started eating primally I lose about 3 pounds per week when I'm doing a good job, although I've had some slips abusing the 80/20 principle.

Here are a few things I need to work on to get past those slips and really start getting into shape:

-Quick meals for weeknights. Most days my commute to work is at least an hour (45 minutes on a good traffic day), and when I get home I'm tired and lack the energy to cook a decent meal. Most of the time I cook a lot on weekends and reheat during the week, but it doesn't always work out that way. I need to work on prepping meals in advance, so I'm not tempted to get something quick instead (like last night, where I forgot to thaw my steak and ended up ordering pizza, then eating too much until I wanted to throw up... more disordered behavior I think).