Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My low fat diet made me SO fat. Primal is the way to go! page

2LiveAgain Guest

Primal Fuel

Hi everyone! I found this websit last weekend and just can't get enough of this! I have been heavy all my life, and grew up eating tons of flour and sugar in the traditional "country" way. I have been on every diet imaginable. My mother started dragging me to her weight watcher meetings when I was only 14 years old and forced me to eat low fat, higher carb foods. I have spent my entire life trying desperately to get healthy and feel "good". By the time I graduated from high school, I was 180 lbs and felt like a little barrel with legs. By the time I graduated from college, I weighed 230 lbs and felt aweful physically and emotionally even though I was maintaining a low fat, fake food (lol) diet. Then I got married and started having kids (3 beautiful babies, lol). Now in my 40's I am only 5'3" and weighed in at a whopping 281.5 lbs. The last diet I was on (my medical doctor put me on this, gasp!) was a 1000 calorie, low fat, high carb diet in which I ate fake food (some type of bar). I was literally dying on this diet because I had NO energy, mood swings, and stayed in bed to the point that I had to miss school. I felt horrible!!! Of course, I know that type of diet really was killing me! So on Wed., March 17, 2010, I decided to throw the bars in the trash and give this a go since my low fat diets only made me fatter and more unhealthy than ever. I started eating the Primal way that day and I am in love with this "diet" already. For one thing, it really isn't a diet at all, it's a great way to eat for life. It is absolutely incredible that I have already lost 5 lbs in only THREE days!!! Also, I have Rheumatoid Arthritis, and hypothyroidism which after doing lots of research, is probably directly related to all the wheat products that were in my diet for forty years. I am really excited to see where the Primal way of eating takes me as I will