Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Meatballs questions page

Heth is offline Member

Meatballs questions

Primal Blueprint Expert Certification
    Hi all,

I'm quite new to this meat cooking business but am wanting to branch out and try some meatballs. I've found a few primal-friendly recipes but I'm not really good at following recipes! So, do I need to use eggs? Will they stick together without? And does this depend on the type of mince used? I have some lamb mince (not lean) in the freezer I'd like to try. I thought I would like to just try using some mashed pumpkin, lamb mince and herbs and see if that works. But I didn't know if egg added to this would be too moist, or if it would actually help it stick together. Some recipes also add oil. Again, is this necessary? Also, I've seen recipes that involve cooking the balls in the oven then pouring the sauce over the top, and others where you cook the balls in the sauce with a lid on, I guess they sort of steam this way. Do they tend to fall apart if you cook them in the sauce?

Any meatball experts out there?

Thanks!

Hedonist2 is offline Senior Member
    I have rarely cooked meatballs. I'd say to experiment. If they fall apart, they still taste good.
    Ancestral Health Info - My blog about Primal and the general ancestral health movement. Site just remodeled using HTML5/CSS3 instead of Wordpress.

Heth is offline Member
    Haha yes of course they would! Good thinking!

ElaineC is offline Senior Member
    I view meatballs as mini meatloaf, and use eggs, around one per half kilo of meat. I do masses of them at once, bake them in the oven, and freeze them. I like to make a base out of ground beef or pork or lamb, use egg to keep it together, salt and pepper. From there I'll split it into smaller batches and add different things. Parmesan cheese, feta cheese, garlic, onion, mushrooms, Montreal steak spice, all different kinds that I fancy making. Bake, cool, taste test, freeze in labelled baggies.