Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Major cramps in quads and calfs during 70.3 IM page

bdfink is offline Member

Major cramps in quads and calfs during 70.3 IM

Primal Fuel
    I competed in a Half IM triathlon this weekend and had major cramps in my quads and calfs on the run portion. I started out running 730s for the first 4 miles and then I ran out of my gels (not PB friendly, I know) and electrolyte pills. By mile 6, my legs were feeling really heavy and by mile 10 and on I had to walk/run the rest of the way cause of the muscle cramps finishing at 920s.

I've never had cramps this badly in a race before. This is my first year following the PB and wanted to know if it could be the diet? Maybe there is a supplement I should consider taking? Could it have been because I was drinking too much water? I was sweating the entire run but I was covered in salt halfway through the run. Should I have been drinking more gatorade instead of water? I also had a pretty weak breakfast. I didn't plan ahead and ended up eating a few handfuls of mixed nuts and dried fruit.

I'm thinking that maybe I need to take a supplement thats missing in my diet, bring more nutrition on the run, drink more electrolytes, eat a better breakfast or just train more next time?

Wanderlust is offline Senior Member
    I'm not an endurance athlete, but the basic three minerals that a deficiency can cause cramps are Potassium (yeah bet you heard the before), Sodium (yeah duh) and Calcium. Take a look at your calcium intake pre-race, might need to bump up the spinach intake.

Regarding Gatorade I would say just cut out the sugar water.
    "Go For Broke"
    Fat Kine-230/24% @ 6'2"
    Small Kine-168/9%
    Now- 200/8%
    Goal- 210/6%

jturk is offline Senior Member