Thread: moderation- what does it mean? page

mycatsnameisbug is offline Junior Member

moderation- what does it mean?

I am fairly new to the PB eating plan... I have had some feedback and guidance from more seasoned members (Thanks Paleobird!), but I got to thinking about one of the things that Mark says in the blog all the time-- moderation... sensible indulgences... 80/20.

Now i read the whole thing on the blog about moderation. I read the whole 80/20 principle. I searched the boards, and maybe I am over analyzing... what does moderation really mean?

Is it once a day, once a week, once a month? And is moderation different for different things- ie fruit, tubers, dark chocolate, wine, nuts and dairy? My big issue I guess is the fruit and dairy. I have no problem with the others, and as a little background i do have a significant amount of weight I am in the process of losing. I seem to have no problem from a digestive perspective with dairy and fruit- but i hear "in moderation" all the time. So I guess my question is- is having the daily coffee with cream, having some fruit (maybe 1-2 servings a day, mostly berries and apples) and raw cheese 3-4x a week considered moderate? What about snacking in general? Or is it more of a thing where- if the scales still moving you're ok type of thing... I really am not interested in doing this as a strict diet, but a lifestyle change that is actually sustainable for the long haul. Frankly a life without coffee, cheese and some fruit is a life I'm not interested in.

I would love to get some thoughts on what your meaning of moderation really is and how you apply it in PB. Also, if a thread like this already exists, let me know where- I swear I looked and couldnt find the answer I was looking for!

dragonjax is offline Senior Member