Thread: Is a calorie deficit bad for someone who is already skinny? page

timtom is offline Junior Member

Is a calorie deficit bad for someone who is already skinny?

Primal Fuel
    First let me say hello everyone, My name is Tom. I'm just starting out the primal diet, spurred out of my growing interest in nutrition and finding the best dietary practices, which has grown gradually over the last couple years.

I am 6'2 165lb but really lean, around 8% body fat, been the same weight for years and as a kid i used to eat massive amounts of garbage and never got fat.

I have an active job in a warehouse where I do low level work all day, on my feet the whole time and lifting boxes. Today after work I walked for an hour and did some sets of sprints up a hill in the primal spirit. Normally I like to ride my bike for an hour hard every week and usually don't exercise after work because its late and I don't feel like doing much(I like to log 50-60 hours a week at work). I'm pretty conditioned from the sporadic aerobic workouts I do and have a good muscle tone, however.

How many calories would you expect someone like me to burn in a day where I have a workout in addition to a workday. I plugged my numbers into fitday and it came up with 2802 calories with a 4201 calories burn. I feel like this amount of calories is pretty typical of my average day.

Would a daily calories deficit affect someone who has nothing to lose and always seems to stay in the same weight range?

One of my longer-term goals is to put on ~10lbs of lean body mass but I'm trying to get a feel for how much food that would take on a daily basis. -Tom

Fernaldo is offline Senior Member
    Do you know how much you are eating each day?
    "The problem with quoting someone on the Internet is, you never know if it's legit" - Abraham Lincoln

Around that 2800 area

ChocoTaco369 is offline Senior Member