Thread: Stressed out student with possibly disturbed cortisol cycle page

invisible is offline Junior Member

Stressed out student with possibly disturbed cortisol cycle

Primal Fuel
    I have a history of not coping well with stress - getting more stressed than others in the same situation do and taking a very long time to wind down from stress. At the moment I'm a student and each time it gets towards the end of semester I experience weeks of extreme stress to the point I've contemplated going to the ER on several occasions but didn't because I was panicking about having time to finish assignments.

I have to do all my study in the afternoon and at night as I'm useless in the morning. No matter whether I get up at 4am or 8am I can barely stay awake until 11am comes around. In the late afternoon/early evening my brain really switches on and for the first time I can start getting work done.

If I don't get ALL my tasks done before I go to bed in the early morning I wake up constantly feeling highly anxious.

Meditation and yoga have helped in the past but when I'm in the extremes of stress I'm not thinking straight and nothing or no one can convince me to take time out to do either. I'm thinking that maybe a stress relief supplement could really help me. I know my sleep cycle is really bad but a lot of the time I just need to calm down and get some sleep when I can finally get to bed. I'm wondering has anyone tried Himalaya Herbal Healthcare StressCare supplement as I've read some good reviews for it. Or any other recommendations?

cmlloyd Guest
    The only way to find out if you are producing extra cortisol is to get it tested. I am in school as well and the end of the semester does stress me out too. I find that if I take some of my classes online it helps with the "have to be at school" factor. I'm not sure how old you are or if you have that option, but it might be something to look into when signing up for fall classes.