Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Work Lunches- What do I do now? page

CaveGirl Guest

Primal Fuel

Anyone know what are good primal options I can bring to work with me and microwave (or not) to have for lunch?

I'm new at this primal way of eating but am seriously giving it a shot. I have in my freezer right now things like scallops, shrimp, wild salmon, duck breast, chunks of smoked duck and some buffalo patties. I am planningon picking up some grassfed beef/bison and some pastured pork at the farmer's market this weekend to round it out.

All my lunches have been things like pastas, pasta salads, rice and beans with meat, dill potatoes with chciken types of meals (so yeah, carb heavy and it shows). I'm tired of ending all my meals feeling "carbatose" so I want to try something new but I'm not sure what meals/kinds of foods would taste ok after sitting in my fridge overnight, office mini-fridge for half a day and being warmed up in the microwave.

Sorry this post is so long but I really want to go primal and being outside of my home makes my meal-planning a little harder.

Thanks much!

Anonymous Guest

I generally bring salads, and that works pretty well. I'll roast a chicken or chicken breasts and cut up the meat and put that on top, since it doesn't need to be heated. I usually make a week's worth of meat at once - which is 3-4 meals for me.

I've also roasted vegetables and brought those to work, which worked pretty well. Had one container with meat of some kind and the other container with vegetables.

Spaghetti sauce over vegetables & meat works nice. I also don't mind salsa over vegetables & meat. Biggest downside to spaghetti sauce & salsa is the sodium in it.

depending on how much you like to cook, you could find some indian curries - they are generally better the following day. I've made this before:

http://katskitchentalk.blogspot.com/2008/01/indian-spiced-cauliflower-and-potatoes.html