Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What if you don't have a gall bladder? page

jtrippdc is offline Junior Member

What if you don't have a gall bladder?

First off, sorry if this is in the wrong thread... I'm a newbie to the site... So I convinced my cousin to go primal! She is doing great so far, and she has already lost 10 pounds. She asked me today if it was alright for her to do a high fat diet since she had her gall bladder removed due to gall stones a couple of years ago. She was told after the surgery not to consume too much fatty foods. Obviously a big plate of french fries and fried chicken is a different story than some avocado and grassfed beef, but I was just curious as to what you think about this! She also asked me how many eggs is too many. Any help would be appreciated!

patski is offline Senior Member
    I experienced nausea, bloating and gas eating Primal after I had my gallbladder removed.

Taking digestive enzymes helped tremendously.

Eventually, the body will adapt. I would also recommend a high quality probiotic before meals.
    A Post-Primal PrimalPat

Do not allow yourself to become wrapped up in a food 'lifestyle'. That is ego, and you are not that.

EggbertHeadleton is offline Junior Member
    Robb Wolf has talked about this a fair amount. My memory is that he suggests digestive enzymes (NOW super enzymes) and ox bile (?) supplementation with every meal.

jammies is offline Senior Member
    There a few threads on this if you feel like searching. Overall, it seems like most people do just fine with lots of primal fats. There are a few that need a little support, but most do fine.

I have a sluggish gallbladder that does not empty well. Primal eating has dramatically improved my symptoms.
    Using low lectin/nightshade free primal to control autoimmune arthritis. (And lost 50 lbs along the way )

http://www.krispin.com/lectin.html

Ncgirl is offline Junior Member