Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I need help Gaining weight and Muscle mass page

Brolic Prim is offline Junior Member

I need help Gaining weight and Muscle mass

Shop Now
    I am 20 years old bout to turn 21 next week. I do not workout much-at all . my measurement are 5'8 135lbs i think 120 lean body mass i have a mesomorph type build and I'm looking to gain weight and muscle. i am new to the primal way but, i have been reading lost of post about it. I am going to be working out 3 days weights and sprint one day, tabata other day and a 45min ab workout on a day out the week throw some tai chi in there and i move around alot at my 5hour job. I would like to know how much calories i should consume (so i can keep track), how much carbs and fats i need. My protein intake is gonna be 132gr-148gr...is that good for me to gain weight and muscle. i was thinking my carb intake should be 150gr-160gr- no lower than 140gr and lastly i do not know how much fat i need to balance the rest of my macronutrients. Does anybody have any suggestions or ideas!? much appericated

P.S. I haven't been eating primal but when i start this program i am making my switch
    I am not that active but, i plan on being ALOT more active

EDIT: Calories 2444 rest days 952 from carbs and fats 540 from protein
    2666 work days 1063 from carbs and fats 540 from protein. I used the IF calculator
    Last edited by Brolic Prim; 06-12-2012 at 03:32 PM.

yodiewan is online now Senior Member
    I wouldn't worry too much about how much you eat. Just train hard and eat until you are full. You can see immense gains in muscle stength since you haven't been doing any type of resistance training. If you just HAVE to have numbers, this calculator is pretty cool: IF Calculator

Mark did a post a couple years ago on this topic, although I think if he wrote it today, he might recommend higher carb intake:
    How to Gain Weight and Build Muscle | Mark's Daily Apple