Thread: Need help page

Pallavi Shetty is offline Junior Member

Need help

Primal Fuel
    Hi Everybody,
    I am new to the primal living and am grappling with a few basics as yet. I eat only eggs, chicken, cheese and other milk products for my protein needs..hence it is very limiting for me. I am trying to loose weight too. So far it has worked for me...i have lost 8 kgs in 2 months. Now I have reached a plateau and hence started to monitor my diet.

It would be very helpful if anybody could tell me if i am going wrong with my carb and protein intake.

I average around
    • 80-90 gms carb
    • 60-80 gms protein
    • 40 gms fat
    • 1200-1300 calories per day
    • 500 calories of workout per day

Source of carb per day no processed foods at all... only through veggies milk and fruits.

I am consciously trying to limit my carb intake to under 80 gms per day as per Marks' advice. But i have seen other primal diet and their protein intake is over 100 gms per day. Will my low protein intake dampen my efforts to loose weight?
    where am i going wrong?

Kindly advice.
    pals

HopelessDreamer is offline Senior Member
    Pals, I think you are not eating enough protein. I am no expert on this, but from what I have read and experienced in my life, here is my 2 cents: It looks like you exercise everyday, so you should probably eat about 1 lb. protein per pound of bodyweight. If you are overweight, then eat protein per pound of IDEAL bodyweight. If you want to weigh 150 lbs., then eat 150 g of protein. Also, your fat grams seem a but low, but so does your calorie intake. Maybe you could eat more and get your metabolism up - my humble opinion is you are not eating enough, and your body is conserving fat by not letting you lose weight.
    Another point is: milk keeps some people from losing, and if you read about Primal nutririon, you should be eating MEAT and FISH, not so much milk. Good Luck!

icz
    icz is offline Member