Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Workout Recovery page

GeorgiaPeach is offline Senior Member

Workout Recovery

Shop Now
    What's the best way to recover from an intense workout? Squats in particular made me so sore!!! And that was two days ago. If I am supposed to do the PB fitness lift heavy things twice a week, I want to make sure I am not taking too long to recover so that I can move slowly, do sprints, and make it back to the next lift heavy things workout.
    Don't let anybody tell you, "You can't" just because they can't.

wolfman is offline Senior Member
    FOOD, best way to recover. I have been an avid lifter and trainer for a few years now. After your workouts eat lots of protein that's pretty much it. The soreness will go away as your body gets used to the weights and schedule. As a general rule, don't sprint before or after your squat day, and it's okay to lift through soreness, getting blood into the muscles will actually speed recovery, and always roll out using a foam roller after squats, most gyms should have them if not get one. Warm up very well if you are sore, and listen to your body, if it feels like your muscle is ripping off your bone, take a day off. Your body will get used to working out and the soreness will subside.

federkeil is offline Senior Member
    What wolfman said.

If you're sore for that long, and you haven't just started a new routine, you are most likely lacking in some form of nutrition.

You may also not be warming up, or cooling down, appropriately. Unless you're one of those people that has a hard time sweating you should have started before you get into the squat rack, I do 10min on the bike and a joint warmup routine. 10min on the bike at 10-12 resistance gets my body warm and starting to sweat but doesn't tire my muscles. I also wear a light jumpsuit in the spring/summer for my warmup to aid in this (heavier in the winter), which also helps warmup the joints.