Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can anyone recommend lifts for skinny fat that don't involve equipment? page

YogaBare is offline Senior Member

Can anyone recommend lifts for skinny fat that don't involve equipment?

Hey everyone,

I'm a Yoga instructor, but other than that I'm very new to the exercise thing. I'm quite slim and toned around the majority of my body - but have some skinny fat that won't budge. I've started doing the high intensity cardio (skipping) but I've been reading that to get rid of skinny fat and not drop weight you need to do heavy lifting.

Can anyone recommend heavy lifts I can do without equipment? It is possibly to just lift using my own body weight? I don't want to go to a gym.

I specifically want to target skinny fat on my belly, hips, and backs of thighs... the rest of me is ok!

sbhikes is offline Senior Member
    Somewhere I saw a really good video about doing pullups. I can't do any pullups but this guy showed ways to build up to them. He made a convincing argument that pullups are almost (note the qualifier word almost) the only body weight exercise you need to do.
    Female, 5'3", 49, Starting weight: 163lbs. Current weight: 135 (more or less).
    I can squat 180lbs, press 72.5lbs and deadlift 185lbs

YogaBare is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by sbhikes View Post
    (note the qualifier word almost)
    lol. Find it hard to imagine pull ups would tone my butt...! But then again, what do I know - I once thought being veggie was healthy Will try to find a bar somewhere I can use...

Fernaldo is offline Senior Member
    First, you can't spot reduce areas, you just need to lose fat / preserve-build lean mass i.e. strength train.
    Just off the top of my head:
    Pull ups, Push ups, Box jumps (use your stairs), Burpees, Pike Press, Lunges, Bulgarian Split Squats, Pistol Squats (may take some time )
    Last edited by Fernaldo; 06-01-2012 at 03:46 PM.

Dirlot is online now Senior Member