Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Tell me why sprints are better page

CaveWeirdo is offline Senior Member

Tell me why sprints are better

Shop Now
    I've been running for 3 months and am still overweight so am easing into it slowly. After reading up on proper sprinting technique I started to cut out my longer runs and concentrate on doing shorter, faster sessions. I was regularly doing 3 and 5 kilometer trail runs before. I wouldn't say they were chronic cardio though, as I would always do them fartlek style - jogging a bit but mostly brisk walking. This week I've done 3 sessions of about 15 mins, where I walk a bit to warm up, sprint like an enraged hippo for about 70 meters, then walk till I've gotten my breath back, sprint again, etc.

My thinking behind this is to do with muscle fibers. To become good at sprinting, you do sprints to turn your neutral fibers into fast-twitch ones. Too much long distance running will turn them into slow-twitch fibers. I would like to be fast and bulky rather than being like a typical slim marathoner.

I feel kind of smug for running faster than the skinny joggers on my run, then letting them catch me up again when I walk/stagger with a red face while recovering from each sprint. I get the feeling that I must be doing the right thing for my health and for becoming faster, because sprinting feels hard. Hard in a good way of course, but still, much harder than doing a long, slow run. (If you don't think sprinting is hard, try doing it while carrying an extra 90lbs of flab!)

It's still difficult to get my head around though. My body feels knackered after my run today but my mind is still going - 'Surely running less than 3 miles per week isn't enough? Surely less than 15 minutes isn't a real exercise session?' Please share any evidence, anecdotal or scientific, for why sprinting is actually an awesome lifestyle hack, and not just wishful thinking?
    Last edited by CaveWeirdo; 05-29-2012 at 01:47 AM.