Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Marathon Training for Complete Beginner page

johnnywhisky01 is offline Junior Member

Marathon Training for Complete Beginner

Primal Fuel
    Hello. There's a marathon coming up mid-October. Is it possible to be able to train for this marathon in a semi-serious/semi-casual manner? I still have to work a sedentary job 40-50 hours a week.

I've never jogged 2 miles non-stop. The most I've done is 1.5 miles non-stop. But I'm fairly active and fit. I do a boot camp workout for an hour every Sunday and lift weights at the gym 2-3 times a week. But if I do this, I will obviously step up on my running. I'm at 21.2 BMI and eat very healthfully.

I just want to know if it's safe to register (non-refundable) now and expect to be able to do the marathon or if I'm just wasting my money and should wait until 2013.

Thanks!

Hedonist2 is offline Senior Member
    Right out of the box, primal is great preparation to do a semi-serious/casual marathon. Focus on becoming a fat burning machine and getting the standard primal exercise plus some endurance training.

I did a half marathon after training (at age 67) with a group that takes a fairly primal approach (to training, not food). Two sprint sessions/week, once a week increased distance slower than you think you should go, short walks during the week, some cross training and rest days. That will allow you to do respectably well without doing the damage to yourself that marathoning can do.
    Ancestral Health Info - My blog about Primal and the general ancestral health movement. Site just remodeled using HTML5/CSS3 instead of Wordpress.

Al_Kavadlo is offline Senior Member
    If you can barely run 2 miles now, you're probably not going to be ready to do a Marathon this fall (unless you are willing to devote a ton of time to your training).

Here are a couple of articles that might help:
    Beginning Running
    Exercise Vs. Skill