Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Overtraining problem... or is it? page

Primalwombat is offline Member

Smile Overtraining problem... or is it?

Primal Fuel
    Hi all,

I am new to Paleo, and hope to make it a sustainable eating and exercise lifestyle. When I say that I'm new, I really mean NEW. I have been calorie counting for around 2.5 months, and have had success with limiting my calorie intake to around 1500-1700 calories/day net (that is, after taking into account exercise calories). I have managed to lose 10kg (22 pounds), and feel and look a lot more compact than I used to.

I have never had a problem with eating less carbs, and I actually had to TRY to up my carb intake, so I am really looking forward to getting to the primal swing of things. On average I get around 47% of calories from carbs, 31% from fat and 22% from protein. (YES, I actually enjoy recording what I eat :-P). Depressingly close to the "recommended" macro nutrient intake.

For exercise, I have been doing Insanity, and loving it. Exercise calorie use according to HR is around 460-900 per day, six days a week.

Now during this week I have hit a wall... I don't sleep well, I'm not motivated to exercise and I feel generally weak. I had to skip yesterday's Insanity session, and today I had to stop it halfway through, because I just c-o-u-l-d n-o-t finish.

I am 186 cm (6' 2") and 87 kg (192 pounds), 44 yo male.

What do you guys think is the problem... am I over exercising or under-eating, or both? What would be the best way to recover and continue?

I really look forward to hearing some good comments, and getting to be a part of the awesome community here.

Thanks in advance,
    Markus

Knifegill is offline Senior Member
    Six days a week is probably too much. I only work out two or three days a week and am making good progress, and very little pain.

Turquoisepassion:
    Knifegill is christened to be high carb now!
    notontherug:
    the buttstuff...never interested.