Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Science behind the primal diet page

RReznik is offline Junior Member

Science behind the primal diet

Primal Fuel
    I was talking with my brother who is an RN this weekend about The Primal Blueprint diet plan. He mentioned that the problem with the Atkins diet and similiar diets is that when you cut out all carbohydrates and grains and eat alot more protein that it can harm your liver and have other harmful side effects.

I wanted to get the forums take on this and other misinformation. Has anyone ever had any bad side effects or problems arise from cutting out carbs, grains from your diet?

I am pretty new to the whole paleo\primal diet thing and just trying to weed out a lot of the misinformation out there.

john_e_turner_ii is offline Senior Member
    Google low carb diets and Atkins. There are tons of articles about the myths and science that debunk them.

Apex Predator is offline Senior Member
    A good start would be to ask her for actual evidence of her claims.

teach2183 is offline Senior Member
    To start, Primal Blueprint doesn't cut out ALL carbs.

MightyAl is offline Senior Member
    An extremely high protein diet will damage the liver and kidneys. It is called rabbit sickness. You simply need to make sure that you get plenty of fat. No Fat/No Carb/All Protein can kill you but it is difficult to achieve that mix of macros.
    Check out my primal blog: http://primalroar.posterous.com/

Lewis is offline Senior Member
    Quote Originally Posted by RReznik View Post
    I was talking with my brother who is an RN this weekend about The Primal Blueprint diet plan. He mentioned that the problem with the Atkins diet and similiar diets is that when you cut out all carbohydrates and grains and eat alot more protein that it can harm your liver and have other harmful side effects.