Thread: excessive vegetables? page

jayfreck is offline Junior Member

excessive vegetables?

Hi Everyone

Im pretty new to primal, though had been eating slow carb for a while before that. In the past 6 weeks ive lost about 8kg, dropping from 98kg to 90kg and all the bloating from eating grains has gone, so really happy with the results so far

What really enabled me to embrace primal was discovering how easy it was to stir fry a load of mixed vegetables in butter with a minimal sauce. So i started eating monster vegetable portions with a good slab of meat, but im starting to think that maybe its not necessary to eat so much?

As an example, my lunch will typically be:

200-300 grams of meat
    1 head of broccoli
    1 head of cauliflower (or half a head if its a particularly large cauli)
    half a bag (50g) of kale
    half a bag (200 grams) of sofrito mix (diced carrot, onion & celery)
    few cloves of garlic
    1 low salt organic veg stock cube

or alternatively an entire bag of sofrito (400g) with kale or similar

While it tastes great, i started to wonder is this overdoing it. Typically i`ll have another large meal in the evening of stir fried vegetables and meat.

is this much veg unnecessary? What do you guys think?

Metric is offline Senior Member
    Do you feel good eating like this?

jayfreck is offline Junior Member
    yeah i do, just thinking of the cost of the vegetables and time etc.

I exercise quite a lot (muay thai twice a week, yoga once and weightlifting once) and do want to gain muscle. how does my meal compare to others' with similar goals?

BestBetter is offline Senior Member
    Primal Blueprint Expert Certification