Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dates and Raisins during race? page

RoyHerb is offline Junior Member

Dates and Raisins during race?

Primal Fuel
    I'm very new to Primal eating, but have been dedicated to it for about a week now. I am a marathon runner, and have completed several fulls and halfs. I haven't eaten any processed carbs in the past week and am feeling fantastic! I have a half marathon coming up and I'm a little nervous about what to eat during my race. Usually for a half, I'll do one gel, but am a little scared that introducing it into my system might upset my stomach. My current thought is that I might replace my gu with a date or two, or maybe an ounce of raisins? They have the same carb count as the Gu plus loads of potassium. They don't have the sodium, but I do drink Nuun during any long run and am thinking it should be enough sodium to keep me going. Has anybody experimented with raisins or dates during long runs or races?

Thanks!

JimmyDamage is online now Senior Member
    Check this out first:
    How to Fuel a Marathon | Mark's Daily Apple

I will usually eat a few eggs and a piece of fruit before going on long runs and have been feeling great!

I have read that post. I have trained low and raced high even before I went paleo. I know what I want to eat before I run, the night before and the morning of. My concern is DURING the race. Taste is important to me... I'm not going to make some concoction that's described as "not astoundingly delicious" I would just use a gel and chalk it up to my 20%, but I'm afraid it will upset my stomach at this point. I need something carby, with electrolytes, that is portable...

Dates and raisins should be fine. I'm working towards a half (from couch-sloth a couple of years ago) and find on longer runs that Larabars (mostly dates, plus other Primal ingredients) make a solid and portable choice. But dates and raisins would be nice, compact energy sources.

jakey is offline Senior Member