Page 1 of 33 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Interesting -The Carbohydrate Hypothesis of Obesity: a Critical Examination page

JollyRogers is offline Junior Member

Interesting -The Carbohydrate Hypothesis of Obesity: a Critical Examination

Shop Now
    http://wholehealthsource.blogspot.co...esity.html?m=1

I've been browsing the site and eating primal for ~ 5 months now with decent, but not overwhelming results. Came across the above article a week ago. Curious what folks think.

Forgotmylastusername is offline Senior Member
    It's right, the CIH is bunk.
    There's a reason no one outside of the low-carb circles take much notice of Taubes.

js290 is offline Senior Member
    Fatty Acid Oxidation

...the mobilization of fat from adipose tissue is inhibited by numerous stimuli. The most significant inhibition is that exerted upon adenylate cyclase by insulin. When an individual is in the well fed state, insulin released from the pancreas prevents the inappropriate mobilization of stored fat. Instead, any excess fat and carbohydrate are incorporated into the triacylglycerol pool within adipose tissue.
    Obesity is but one expression of insulin resistance and poor glucose control. What are the actual mechanism by which we become insulin resistant? Excessive fructose? Muscle glycogen stores always full?

ChocoTaco369 is online now Senior Member
    INSULIN DOES NOT CAUSE FAT GAIN.

Dietary fat is directly stored as body fat. Carbohydrate is not directly stored as body fat. When you eat a high carbohydrate diet, it is not the carbs making you fat, it is all the dietary fat you eat alongside the carbs. Here is what happens:

Let's assume you have a maintenance calorie level of 2,500. If you eat over 2,500 calories you gain weight, if you eat less you lose weight.