Thread: Differentiating coconut products page

cookworm is offline Junior Member

Differentiating coconut products

Primal Fuel
    I did do a search through previous posts and could not find one post that dealt with this; hope this isn't a redundant issue, but I'm a newbie and need some clarification.

What is the difference between coconut manna, coconut oil, and coconut butter? I saw the coconut manna today at the health food store and it looked just like extra virgin coconut oil to me (Is the manna the contents of young coconuts? What is it?). I thought the term "butter" indicated it was just the fat, so is coconut butter really coconut oil?

Are there health benefits to using one over the other?

MarissaLinnea is offline Senior Member
    Manna is coconut flesh with the oil. Sometimes the oil separates to the top, you have to heat the jar in warm water for a bit and then stir the manna and it all goes back together again. It's delicious! You can eat manna with fruit, in smoothies or just with a spoon. To me manna is more of a treat type of thing, but it's good because it's only coconut, it's a whole food. Coconut oil is just that, oil, and it's supposed to be a great source of MCT's, very good for you. Most people use it for cooking (like, to cook your eggs or sautee veggies), some put a spoonful in their coffee or tea. Now coconut butter I'm not sure about. I have seen it but I looked at the ingredients and there was a lot of stuff in it that isn't Primal friendly. The idea I got from it was that it was sort of a spread, like to put on toast or what not. I do not use it and I won't because of the bad stuff in it. There is also coconut milk which comes canned. Thai Kitchen brand is the best brand I've been able to find. No preservatives and comes in organic. I use that over fruit and in my coffee.

SuBee is offline Member