Thread: Cravings after Meal page

10climbe Guest

As I have been eating about 80% primal for the last two months, I have noticed a large reduction in cravings. Since going primal I have also become much more attuned to the signals my body is giving me, such as if I am hungry or not. One thing that I have noticed is that perhaps the hardest time I have fighting cravings is directly after a meal. Today for example I had a very filling meal that consisted of an avocado, large chicken breast, 3 slices of bacon, a tamato and two cups of leaf lettuce. While I felt content, I found myself searching for something to snack on. Whenever this happens I usually reach for something small but nontheless un-primal. Usually a half a bite of a cookie, a high GI fruit, or a handful of pretzels. Its almost as if my body is still desiring simple sugars for quick energy. Has this ever happened to anyone else?

FlyNavyWife is offline Senior Member

Was there any dressing on your lettuce/tomato? Did the chicken breast have skin on it?

Personally if a meal doesn't have enough fat for the amount of the other things it has (protein+carbs) ... if it's not BALANCED in a primal fatty way... I tend to also be snacky afterward even if I'm "full."

I don't think your body is still desiring simple sugars. You're just mis-reading the signals. Your body wants fat for energy and the few slices of bacon and the avocado just weren't enough.

That's my theory anyway. Next time have a chicken thigh with skin on it, and use lots of good EVOO on your lettuce and tomato (maybe with some lemon juice or balsamic vinegar too).

Eating lots but still hungry? Eat more fat. Mid-day sluggishness? Eat more fat. Feeling depressed or irritable? Eat more fat. People think you've developed an eating disorder? Eat more fat... in front of them.

FlyNavyWife is offline Senior Member

also how do you take "half a bite" of a cookie? hehe. It's like trying to dig half a hole!