Thread: Did I do IF correctly? page

Theresa92 is offline Senior Member

Did I do IF correctly?

Someone on this forum suggested to me that I do IF to help me lose the last excess 10 pounds I am carrying around. I also read in the PB book that you should try to at least IF for 16 hours. So I tried it the first time today. I stopped eating at around 7pm last night, and did not eat until around 11:30am today. That was only about 14.5 hours fasting, I know, but I am new to fasting and will increase my fast lengths the more I do it. When I broke my fast at 11:30am today, here is what I had: 3 small chicken thighs, 2 chicken wings, 3 oz chicken breast with a little butter, and about 2 cups worth of sauteed onion/mushroom mixture. I plugged this into a calorie calculator and here is what I got: 834 calories, 25g carb, 42g fat, 85g protein. It is now 10:30pm where I am, and I am now just getting hungry after my big meal at 11:30 am this morning. So what I am eating now is a small can of tuna with olive oil(240 calories, 16g fat, 12g protein) I plan on this tuna being the last thing I eat today.

So....did I do IF right? My concern is that I broke my 14.5 hour fast with a little too much food..... Am I correct? I'll appreciate any advice from more knowledgeable people, as I really don't even know what I'm doing here! Thank you

StackingPlates is offline Senior Member
    There is no single way to do Intermittent Fasting. It sounds like you are trying to do more of a "Leangains" style IF, which is fine but note that it is geared more towards bodybuilders and those looking to bulk and lose fat simultaneously. If so then make note that he only recommends women do 14/10 and not 16/8.

The only way you'd break your fast with "too much" food is if it caused you to exceed your caloric needs for the day. There are some who practice "Warrior Diets" where their fast breaking meal may be all they eat for the entire day.

Theresa92 is offline Senior Member